h1

World Wildlife Fund FAIL

July 12, 2009

Ok, so people don’t get angry about the same things I get angry about…and I get that. Every single other normal American Citizen can just watch commercials, not get upset, and go about their daily business.  Not I.  So tonight, with the help of a friend of mine, we did something about it.

I am sure you have all seen one of our favorite ER doctors and awesome Librarian, Noah Wylie with his super sad World Wildlife Fund ad.  Two little polar bears, sitting on a block of ice, seeming out in the middle of the ocean, jump off the block of ice because as we all know…it’s melting…into the warming ocean and swimming to England or somewhere.  Most likely, those polar bears were five feet from another larger land based chunk of ice..where the video team was shooting the clip from.

This is an excerpt of an article from Christopher Booker of the Telegraph.co.uk about Dr. Mitchell Taylor, Polar Bear Biologist from the Department of the Environment, Government of Nunavut.

Dr Mitchell Taylor has been researching the status and management of polar bears in Canada and around the Arctic Circle for 30 years, as both an academic and a government employee. More than once since 2006 he has made headlines by insisting that polar bear numbers, far from decreasing, are much higher than they were 30 years ago. Of the 19 different bear populations, almost all are increasing or at optimum levels, only two have for local reasons modestly declined.

Dr. Mitchell Taylor has also claimed that polar bears numbers are no where near in the need of alarm, and that the WWF and other organizations have used polar bears to say that climate change is effecting species, one of the few species to live in such arctic climates to add to the hysteria surrounding global warming.

So, back to my anger.

I was sitting watching Clueless, a movie I am sure was based on my high school existence, and I had to see that Noah Wylie commercial like five times.  I called the number at the bottom of the screen.  I was on hold for like fifteen minutes, got more upset, and hung up.  I was upset not only because being on hold raises anger in everyone, but because apparently so many morons were being sucked in their commercial that they could not answer my call.  I expressed my anger to one of my friends, who said I should call back on three way.  Well after some technical difficulties related to my ignorance with three way calling, we figured it out.  Here’s a basic re-enactment of how the phone call went.

Operator in sweet singsongy voice: Thank you for calling the World Wildlife Fund, would you like to make a donation today to save the worlds endangered animals?

Me: Actually, I have a problem.  I have been watching my television and I have seen your polar bear ad like five times.  I wondered when you were going to stop airing it considering polar bears are not going extinct.

Operator in suddenly not so nice voice: Well, ma’am they are still on the endangered species list, we are still concerned with their well being, so would you like to donate to help?

Me: Well, if I thought they were going extinct…sure!  But they’re not.  Many scientist say they’re actually GROWING in numbers and not declining.  Sarah Palin, the former governor in Alaska where polar bears actually live, say it is so as well.  So it’s false advertisement and I wanted to know when I wouldn’t have to see it anymore.

Operator in know-it-all-but-really-I-don’t tone: Polar bears live in Alaska and (list of places polar bears live like it made a difference to the argument at hand)

Me: I am not saying polar bears only live in Alaska, I know they don’t.  But that doesn’t make up for the fact they are not endangered or going extinct.

Operator in ANGRY tone: They are still on the endangered species list and have since (insert date here) 2008…so we will continue to care about them.  (Does that mean liberals only care about dying animals?  Just wondering) Then if not polar bears, what about panda bears?  Or the (some term I didn’t care enough to actually remember) tiger? Would you like to donate to help them?

Me: Actually I think the way to save any “endangered” species is to make it legal to kill them, make fur coats out of them, eat them, and then if people could make money off of them they would breed them like we do cows and chickens.  Are cows and chickens in danger of becoming as you say “extinct”?  No?  Thats because people know they can make money off of them. (Hence the beauty of CAPITALISM)

Somewhere in that last statement of mine the kind animal loving operator hung up.

My friend:  Jen, he hung up on you.

My friend and I:  Lots and lots of laughter

It was classic.  I said, “Did you hear how angry he got when I said what I said to begin with?”  My friend answered in the affirmative.  I then conceded, “Guess they aren’t too fond when they can’t argue with someone who they know is right.”

Sorry World Wildlife Fund….but that….was a major fail.  Next time, ask me maybe twelve MORE times if I would like to donate money and maybe it will get your point across that you actually care more about being accurate than being well ‘fund’ed.  At least now they know they have made someone else angry BESIDES Vince McMahon.

6 comments

  1. Too funny Jen! In fact the photo you speak of was shown on FOX ( thank God for them ) news. They interviewed Dr. Taylor about the “growing” polar bear population and he disclosed that the famous photo WWF uses with the polar bears on the mini ice chunk were actually just up there by chance. They were not in any peril, just playing near much bigger icerbergs. Last year a couple of Canadian researchers who were trying to get a grip on actual polar bear numbers were actually stranded at the North Pole because the severe winter conditions made it to treacherous to get them back. In another study they were unable to gather enough information via aerial views because the ice pack was too thick to accurately count the bears! It’s too bad, stuff like this makes people less likely to donate to organizations like this.


    • Agreed! Maybe if they would be accurate instead of just creating hysteria…we could actually solve world problems! If they donated half as much time to solving real problems as they do to creating fake problems…then we would have a better world.


  2. Jen this was great, I love conversations like that where people try to play you thinking that you are ignorant. then when they figure out youre not then they get angry and defensive.


    • LOLLL Silly WWF.


  3. Hah! So glad you called them.
    Today I heard John Kerry [who served in Vietnam], say that Sarah Palin should be concerned about global warming because she “need look no further than the view from her front porch in Alaska to see how destructive this crisis can be,”

    Being from Alaska, the only thing you see when you look out the window up there is INCREDIBLE MAJESTIC BEAUTY. Thriving wildlife. Thousands of miles of untouched wilderness.

    Sorry, John, maybe you should come up and visit before you make such statements. In winter. When it’s 20 below. Then we’ll talk Global Warming.


    • LOL!!!!!!!!!! Didn’t you hear? The earth is cooling BECAUSE it is warming….duh. Its like turning off your air conditioning in 100 weather. Your house gets cooler right?



Leave a Reply

