h1

The Insanity Factor

August 5, 2009

I asked my best friend to give me five words that describe me best. She lovingly said “beautiful, smart, giggly, good friend, and patient.” I agree mostly, minus the beautiful part. She is biased. But, for the most part, I am carefree, patient, and try to be a good person. Its hard being a Navy wife and alone alllllllllllllllllll the time. It is even harder being completely alone when all your friends have moved and the base you live on is being shut down.

I keep myself busy. Fox News, twitter, blogging, talking and texting with my friends and family far away. Its stressful though. To say the very least. But, I am proud of his job, proud to be American and proud to be a voice for good, so I normally wear my sacrifices like a badge of honor. That is…..until last week.

So, like I said, stress level is normally at a ten. Then, enter in my passion for political events. I hear about new taxes everyday….and it makes me angry. I hear people believing nationalized healthcare will save lives and it makes me angry. I get mad when I hear people say I am a list of names and traits of things I am not. I get frustrated at the apathy being spread like a rampant disease among my peers. I get irate when I see our leader blantantly lie on television to millions of people and some of them are gulliable enough to buy it. I see people attacking the good, moral, fair, and or Christian people of our nation and feel justified in doing so. The corruption and dirty dealing of our elected officials infuriates me. I have people say mean, hateful, and ignorant things to me all the time and it saddens me. I feel hopeless, helpless, and powerless to change the things I see wrong with the way our country is being handled. Whether you agree with me or not, you can understand its a lot for a girl to take.

Last week, I went to a walmart gas station by my house. I was pumping gas and looked at a paper sign they had taped to the pump. It stated that due to “the manufacturers” cigarette prices were being raised 25¢ across the board. Well, I know the Obama administration was planning a new tax on cigarettes and whether or not this was related to that was inconsequential to me. I snapped. I am not talking about getting a bit upset. I lost my mind. I literally went insane. I grabbed my Prada, whipped out a Sharpie and started to mark out “manufacturers” on the sign and replaced it with “thanks to Barack Obama”. There were signs on every pump, so after I was done correcting mine, I started on the others. The gas station attendee noticed what I was doing and headed over to tell me to stop. Well, I did not intend to stop. She told me I was “defacing property” I explained I was defacing a piece of freaking paper. I am normally very non-confrontational but not that day. I was up in her face telling her that just because the Walton family was in bed with the Obama administration and their national health scare plan, that didn’t mean I deserved to be lied to while pumping my gas. She then informed me if I didn’t leave she would call the police to which I replied “GOOD!” I finished pumping my gas, got in my car, and started driving with no apparent destination. I started thinking…”what is WRONG with me? Who was that girl I just became? What was I thinking?” I had gone temporarily insane….and it had scared me.

That’s when I realized I needed a break. I needed to stop watching the news for a while, regroup, rejuvinate, and relax. I decided to get away for awhile and I have done just that.

Moral of the story: its easy to lose who you are these days. It is easy to forget what is important in life when everything seems like it is being destroyed right in front of our faces. If we let it get to us, we lose ourselves, and they win. They want us to give up the fight, they want us to let their lies and hate destroy us. Sometimes, in order to keep ourselves sane, we need to take a step back and remember if we let it, the deceit will get us down and make us exactly what they want us to be. Broken. So, don’t let them win, and remember to take time for yourself. We have a long four years ahead of us. Don’t do what I did. Stay strong and remember, we are stronger, smarter and more faithful than ever. That is our most powerful weapon.

One comment

  1. Loved your new entry and this is what made so much sense to me and I can relate:

    Moral of the story: its easy to lose who you are these days. It is easy to forget what is important in life when everything seems like it is being destroyed right in front of our faces. If we let it get to us, we lose ourselves, and they win. They want us to give up the fight,…..



Leave a Reply

